Obama–Is He Halfrican??

Obama–Is He Halfrican?

Ok, so this is my first rant and may be a little controversial. Since it is about the president, I hope nobody in a dark suit with dark sunglasses shows up at my door–if that happens and you are reading this, then you will know exactly what happened to me.

So anyway, we get the first African-American president elected. Now, I’ll be the first one to say that I totally disagree with his politics. But having said that, why do they always call him the first Black or African-American president? What’s up with that? What about his half Caucasian or White side? Actually it kind of upsets me. Now, I know the Black community is excited about it–kind of like when Tiger Woods became popular. But isn’t this a perfect example of reverse discrimination?  In fact, wasn’t he raised by his White mother and his Black daddy high-tailed it back to Africa??? Why don’t we call him the first biracial president? Or the first Halfrican president– half White, half African? It’s sort of offensive that they totally ignore his White heritage and give all the credit to his Black heritage. Being raised by his White mother, it makes me start to wonder how much fried chicken, chitlins, collared greens, black-eyed peas, and watermelon Barack actually ate growing up?

So yah, I totally disagree with his politics. To have been raised by a single mother and made it to Harvard or Yale or wherever he went, become a community organizer, Senator, then President of the U.S. is a great accomplishment. Seriously. He’s doing a lot better than me. But hey, I’m just poor white trash. But then again, Barack probably has a little bit of redneck in him too, we just don’t like to admit it. Maybe we’re trying to finally make the Black community feel better after all those years of slavery and oppression by giving them all the credit for Barack. I’m not bitter that Barack made it to the Whitehouse other than the fact that I didn’t vote for him and don’t care for his politics. I’m just bitter that we totally ignore his White  hillbilly heritage part of him. Oh, and I’d really love to hear your comments about this…

4 Responses

  1. There are two “real” reasons that Obama is described as Black and one “practical” reason that doesn’t need to be factual.

    “Real’ reasons:

    1) A cultural hold-over from the “one drop rule.” Most often a Black / White biracial person is described as Black.

    2) Obama self-identifies as Black. According to one of his autobiographies he did that as a conscious choice in college.

    “Practical” Reason:

    1) It’s good politics. It lets his followers paint any dissent as racist and galvanizes both the Blacks and the White ethno-guiltists to continue to support him, even when he doesn’t live up to the myth the created about him.

  2. Full disclosure: I am black.

    I, too (and many of my black friends), have wondered why so many people call him black instead of biracial. It was of particular offense during the campaign when it was assumed that all black people would vote for him because of his race, considering he is just as much white as he is black. In fact, perhaps more so since, as you point out, he was raised by the white side of his family.

    I was ready to accept your argument as being rational until you wrote “Being raised by his White mother, it makes me start to wonder how much fried chicken, chitlins, collared greens, black-eyed peas, and watermelon Barack actually ate growing up?”

    Excuse me? Either you are a racist or just extremely ignorant, but then again, there is no difference between the two.

    • Thanks for your comment. My statement about fried chicken, etc was meant sarcastically…out of anger regarding the points I made in the article. If it was offensive or stung, it was meant to, so that the reader was able to feel some of the emotion that the writer (me) felt. I’m also wondering why black leaders such as Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton or even the media, never called anyone on it (referring to Barack as African American instead of biracial).

      In regards to being a racist, I’m sorry you feel that way and you are entitled to your opinion. Is it possible to have a black guy as a best friend at one point in time and still be a racist? If not, then I must just be ignorant. However, I’m guessing there are many people that are ignorant that aren’t racists.

      In all honesty, I think the media kept referring to him as Black or African American because they were attempting to celebrate his being elected as being significant in American history because of his heritage. I can understand that and again, perhaps it was the media spinning reality simply to boost their ratings or perhaps a bit of both.

  3. “I’m also wondering why black leaders such as Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton or even the media, never called anyone on it (referring to Barack as African American instead of biracial)”

    There are no black leaders. I have never voted for anyone to represent the black race. My guess is once a certain generation dies out, they will take that vernacular with them.

    “Is it possible to have a black guy as a best friend at one point in time and still be a racist?”

    Yes.

    “… meant sarcastically…out of anger …”

    Why does this topic make you so angry? That’s rhetorical, no need to respond. But it might behoove you to answer that for yourself.

Leave a Reply

